The Nocte Trilogy by Courtney Cole

My name is Calla Price. I’m eighteen years old, and I’m one half of a whole. My other half—my twin brother, my Finn—is crazy. I love him. More than life, more than anything. And even though I’m terrified he’ll suck me down with him, no one can save him but me. I’m doing all I can to stay afloat in a sea of insanity, but I’m drowning more and more each day. So I reach out for a lifeline. Dare DuBray. He’s my savior and my anti-Christ. His arms are where I feel safe, where I’m afraid, where I belong, where I’m lost. He will heal me, break me, love me and hate me. He has the power to destroy me. Maybe that’s ok. Because I can’t seem to save Finn and love Dare without everyone getting hurt. Why? Because of a secret. A secret I’m so busy trying to figure out, that I never see it coming. You won’t either.

It’s true. You won’t.

Is it possible to hate and love a book at the same time? Because this series was one of the most confusing and convoluted series I have ever read, but it was freakin beautiful.

This technically is not a fantasy series, but it’s written just like one. And it’s a heck of a rollercoaster. The books are extremely intense and focus a lot on emotion, and you can kinda see that by the blunt sentences. I may not be making sense here when I say that it’s slow but breakneck – you’ll get what I mean when you read the books. I know I’m being vague, but it’s just one of those undescribable reads.

However, if you aren’t a patient reader, this series is not for you. You’re going to be put through a lot of confusing scenes that seem like they’re going on a loop. But don’t worry – you’ll get your answers at the end of the books.

The series deals with the powerful theme of insanity and inception, and it was brought out in such a heartbreakingly emotional way… (I know, I’m getting emotional but just…). You’ll see what I mean when you read it. It’s a fascinating insight into the human mind and imagination.

Another thing I loved was that the series has an open ending – you can choose to believe it ended one way or another (in this case, it’s important to read the author’s note at the end of book three, Lux).

Whether you choose to make it end happily or not, these are still amazing, amazing books. Puh-leez go read them.

Leave a Reply

