Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

Meet Emma Corrigan, a young woman with a huge heart, an irrepressible spirit, and a few little secrets: Secrets from her boyfriend: I’ve always thought Connor looks a bit like Ken. As in Barbie and Ken. Secrets from her mother: I lost my virginity in the spare bedroom with Danny Nussbaum while Mum and Dad were downstairs watching Ben-Hur. Secrets she wouldn’t share with anyone in the world: I have no idea what NATO stands for. Or even what it is. Until she spills them all to a handsome stranger on a plane. At least, she thought he was a stranger.…Until Emma comes face-to-face with Jack Harper, the company’s elusive CEO, a man who knows every single humiliating detail about her…

I was in between books but didn’t really feel like like starting the next book on my reading list (something I only occasionally follow), so I decided to read this since it came pretty highly recommended as light reading.

Fantasy or not, I love books with humor. This one was pretty hilarious, what with the whole “dorky main character” going on, and that made it pretty easy to read. Also, it was a very short book, which also helped me get through it.

Writing wise, it was pretty good. Like I said, it was quite funny and entertaining. The plot, though, seemed really, really silly. There wasn’t really a drawn out build up to the climax, and overall I just felt like the main events were just crammed up into the latter part of the book, and super predictable. I honestly had more fun reading the casual bits rather than the plot heavy bits. I also felt that certain things happened only to add more words or pages, and that Sophie could have drawn them out or elaborated a little bit. I also need to mention the fact that most of the characters’ personalities seemed to be quite unrealistic and even downright cartoonish.

But other than that, it was fairly decent and enjoyable, and helped me move on to next read.

Leave a Reply

