June Author Interview – Anita Valle

It’s my pleasure to welcome author Anita Valle to my blog!!

Anita Valle is a freelance author and artist based in upstate New York. She works as an author, illustrator, and graphic designer. She is the author of the Nine Princesses Series, as well as the Dark Fairy Tale Queen series.

How long have you been writing?
I occasionally wrote stories as a child but started writing seriously when I was 20.

What inspired you to write?
I always loved books and stories which made me want to create my own. I also love beautiful words and language.

What’s the best thing about the series you wrote (either of them)? If you could change one thing about it, what would that be?
The best thing about the books I have written is that I actually hear from people who read them and love them. I never thought that would happen. Also that I was able to turn a dream into a reality. If I could change one thing, I wish I could write my books a lot faster. I have a busy life that gets in the way and I have perfectionist tendencies, I can spend an hour working over one paragraph. I need to let go and move on a little faster.

What’s your favorite thing about being a writer? What’s your least favorite thing?
My favorite thing about being a writer is reading over the final draft when it’s all done. I always reach a point where the whole book feels like a mess and it’s never going to come together. But when it finally does it’s a great feeling. My least favorite thing is writing descriptions of places and nature. I find that very difficult to do.

What’s a good writing day like? What helps you get over writer’s block?
A good writing day is when the words are flowing well and I don’t feel like I’m falling asleep at the computer. I usually try to get over writer’s block by writing just one more paragraph. I tell myself I don’t have to write the whole book, just one more paragraph. Then one more. But there are some days where I have to give it up and come back later. Sometimes watching a movie or having a nice conversation with a friend will lift your mood and get you feeling creative again.

What’s the one thing about writing that you feel has changed your life in some way?
It is probably the hardest thing I’ve ever done. Writing a book is exhausting. I love it but it doesn’t come easy for me. So it has given me more discipline and determination that I have had for anything else.

What interests you, other than reading and writing?
I’ve been trying to learn Spanish so I enjoy watching Spanish novelas! (Kind of like a soap opera.) I also love Nintendo and will play with my boys when they’re home from school. Lately, we’ve been playing Super Mario Maker, it’s so cool!

Could you describe one person you admire, and why?
It’s a fictional character, but I greatly admire John Jarndyce from Bleak House because of his gentleness and kindness towards everyone, even those who didn’t really deserve it. I value kindness in a person over every other quality.

 

Any advice for aspiring authors/writers?
Don’t start with a description. People will stop reading. Make sure something cool happens in the first chapter. Remember people tend to talk in short sentences rather than long ones. 🙂

Can we expect more books/series from you?
Yes! I’m currently working on Rotten Rapunzel for the Dark Queen series and Lace for The Nine Princesses. If I can have them both out this year, I’ll be happy.

 

Visit Anita Valle’s website, Facebook, and Goodreads.

 

Leave a Reply

