Shift of Shadow and Soul by Hilary Thompson

There are three kinds of magic in the world, and Corentine has the wrong one.

Long ago, the Restless King forced Corentine’s people into hiding as he scoured their blood for the SoulShifter. When Corentine learns she possesses some of the forbidden Shifter magic, she must hide her power or risk the same death her twin suffered.

Raised to trust no-one, she rejects the General’s son Sy, until she realizes his family secrets might be the key to unlocking hers. When his brother turns against them, they are forced to fight family to save what’s left of their home, or accept banishment to find a new future.

If Coren and Sy can’t convince their people to accept the light of Shifter magic, the growing Shadow will ruin everyone’s chance of freedom.

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Holy wow.

I read this immediately after ACOWAR, in the hopes that it would get me out of my reading slump. Suffice it to say that it worked brilliantly, and I’m definitely waiting pretty anxiously for the next books.

First of all, we need to talk about the main character. She’s amazing. I love her snark, and the fact that she’s amazingly kick-a$$. I could really relate to her internal monologue, and she was one of the reasons that I was hooked onto this. I particularly liked the fact that she’s incredibly realistic – she isn’t perfect, and she’s got her flaws. That’s what makes her so life-like and relatable.

Now I need to talk about the world that this is set in. It’s dystopian fantasy (have I mentioned before that I have a total weakness for dystopian society?). Anyway, the details involved in the world-building were incredible. Corentine’s superpowers (not gonna spoil) were fantastic, and the whole secrecy business added an elemant of suspense, so I was constantly kept on my toes.

The plot was brillitant – there were so many twists and turns, with not a single slow moment, and, like I mentioned earlier, I was captivated by this story.

Basically, I really liked it, and I hope you will too.

Leave a Reply

