Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.
Elisa is the chosen one.

But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can’t see how she ever will.

Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.

And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.

Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.

Most of the chosen do.

Oh.

My.

God.

Finish reading this review then go buy this trilogy. I mean it – you will definitely be missing out on a lot, believe me. Go. Read. This. I can’t stress on this enough.

Wow.

My mind has officially been blown. Where do I even begin?

Fire and Thorns was, put quite simply, a complete and utter rollercoaster. The depth and quality of emotion, the themes, the everything! I could completely relate to whatever was going on in Elisa’s head, and she was such a multidimensional character.

The most important thing about this series is Elisa’s character development. As The Girl of Fire and Thorns begind, we see her as nothing more than a sulky, petulant child who whines a lot. Despite that, I was hooked, and it was amazing to visualize her personal growth and development, and see her become a self-confident, powerful, queen. Her transformation is both realistic and breathtaking, and I would recommend this to anybody based on that alone.

Number two: you have to appreciate the fact that Elisa is not a tyical character. She isn’t pretty, and she’s fat, both because she’s an emotional eater, and because she doesn’t lose weight easily. I’m glad to see a different main character, and I feel it really added to the already astounding sense of character.

Can we just talk about the high fantasy world? Religion is one of the main themes here, but I think you’ll still be able to enjoy it even if you’re not a religious person. The settings, the descriptions the magical nature of this world – it was just so, so brilliant.

Favorite books: book one, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, was amazing. Book two, The Crown of Embers, was intense as heck. I mean it – I won’t spoil anything for you, but the intense political climate, the twists and turns; there was so much susense that my pulse rate was rising (in the good way, or course). Book three, The Bitter Kingdom, was okay – it was pretty good, but not as brilliant, but the conclusion was epic.

So read this now!

Now!!!!!

6 thoughts on “Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

  1. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog? My blog site is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you present here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks a lot!

    Like

    1. Seeing as your website is related to investment, I don’t see how it’s the “exact same area of interest” as mine or your “users would certainly benefit a lot.” However, I’m replying to this spam comment for general pusposes: If you’re going to quote my blog, you must ask me for my permission, with the specific quote. You also need to provide credit. I would really just appreciate it if you reblogged the ost than quoting text.

      Like

  2. I’m really impressed together with your writing abilities as well as with the structure to your blog. Is that this a paid subject matter or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing…

    Like

Leave a Reply

