Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

Three years ago, Alison disappeared after a slumber party, not to be seen since. Her friends at the elite Pennsylvania school mourned her, but they also breathed secret sighs of relief. Each of them guarded a secret that only Alison had known. Now they have other dirty little secrets, secrets that could sink them in their gossip-hungry world. When each of them begins receiving anonymous emails and text messages, panic sets in. Are they being betrayed by some one in their circle? Worse yet: Is Alison back?

A friend of mine loves watching the TV show, and she told me to try reading the book. Not my usual type, but why not?

Maybe because it’s a loooong series (even if the books themselves are pretty short), you really get to know the characters pretty well, and I’ll admit I found myself missing Aria, Emily, Spencer, and Hanna when I was finally done. The character development was done pretty well, especially regarding Hanna.

I think it’s a clear given that mystery and suspense are the two number one qualities and genres of this series. Yes, I was actually dying to figure everything out before the rest of the characters, but score one for me for always finding out who A was! (No way am I spoiling for you)(Also I’m aware that the TV show is way more mysterious).

Like I said, it is a pretty long series, so it does take a while to go through. Still, the material content isn’t really that heavy, so it kind of balances out.

Honestly, I quite liked the books. I don’t watch the show, but some of my friends say that it’s much better while some of my friends say that they like the books better. On the other hand, it’s not something I’d recommend for heavy reading. I read it as a bit of light reading when I was in between books and slightly book hungover, and it was a pretty good filler or transition book.

Leave a Reply

