The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth – that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil, no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

Ashallyn’darkmyr Tallyn, you are my soul. (You’ll find out what I mean when you read the book.)

I might have been slightly skeptical when I saw the cover of The Iron King – yes, I do tend to judge boolks by their covers. Anyway, for this one, I’m glad I didn’t. The beginning of the first book started off a little slow, but gradually the pace picked up, and this series became fascinating. Of course, it might have something to do with the fact that I adore faeries.

What I also liked was that unlike most other faerie based books, it wasn’t just that Meghan is thrown into a pre-existing world that she has to save. I mean yeah, that did happen, but there was always a new, innovative concept throughout the series. Sorry, not gonna spoil by telling you what it is.

It deals with so many different aspects of the Celtic mythology that I’m pretty sure Julie did a LOT of research before writing these books. As it is, the detail is amazing and I was constantly kept alert because something was always happening.

Technically, there are 4 books in the series – Iron King, Iron Daughter, Iron Queen, and Iron Knight. However, The Iron Knight is from Ash’s PoV, and can be read as a standalone, so you could consider this a trilogy.

There are also a couple of short stories -Winter’s Passage, Summer’s Crossing, and Iron’s Prophecy – that are meant to be read in between books, but they aren’t necessary in order to understand the plot. In fact, I would suggest that you read Iron’s Prophecy after you read the sequel series, Call of the Forgotten, because it does contain a minor spoiler that will make the next book lose some of its suspense.

8 thoughts on “The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa

  1. Woow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr…

    Well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say superb blog!

    Like

  2. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was really long) so I guess I’ll simply sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m truly enjoy your blog. I as well am an aspiring blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any thoughts for newbie blog writers? I’d really value it.

    Like

    1. Wow, okay yeah your comment might have gone to spam the first time. Thanks by the way!! Honestly, I’m not a professional blogger, but what I can tel you is that you should just write about whatever you care about. Don’t worry about the length of a post or how many followers you have. Just write whatever comes to you.
      Hope that helps 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

