Cheating Death by April White

In the thrilling conclusion to The Immortal Descendants series, a life has ended, the future is lost, and a war has just begun.

An explosion has split Time and Archer has paid the ultimate price, leaving Saira heartbroken and desperate to repair the rupture. But the blast has trapped Saira in an alternate future where Mongers are cornered predators and Death is the ultimate judge. If Saira and her larcenous friend, Ringo, ever want to see Archer alive, they must pull off the impossible – alter history at a moment in time to which they cannot return. But saving Archer will restore a timeline where Mongers have complete control, mixed bloods are hunted prey, and the Descendant world is spiraling into chaos.

As Saira uses her Clocking skills to prevent her worst nightmares from coming true, she travels from the dirty streets of Victorian London to the secret archives of the Vatican. She seeks a purpose that is greater than smashed hope, greater than lost love, greater than the prophecy that has shaped her very existence. She must use the lessons of history to free the present and shape the future. And in the end, Saira and her friends will face War and Death in the most important battle of all – the one for Peace.

I recieved an ARC for this book in exchange for an honest review, so you guys get a bonus post!

Okay, please just give me a moment to get my emotions under control.

**5 minutes later**

Sorry for being a bit incoherent, but I’m speechless. I started writing this review as soon as I finished the book, and this was the perfect, epic, amazing conclusion one of my favorite series – the Immortal Descendants by April White. It was beautiful. The books in this series are super long, fat, and solid, and this was my favorite by far.

And because of their length, I completely knew the characters, and at the ending I just… Gosh – I- Okay, gimme another minute.

Watch out for the second last chapter – it will break your heart in a brilliant way, and then you will be crying buckets.

The previous book, Waging War, ended on a massive cliffhanger, and I was so glad this book picked up right where the previous one left off. The historical details were amazing – I’m not a fan of history at school, but this has really gotten me interested. I love how all the loose ends were tied up, and some plot twists and revelations added such a great element of suspense in the books. (Hint: if you read this book, remember to connect the clues…). Yes, it was a proper happy ending, but you know what? I think the characters deserve a cliche happily ever after after all that they’ve been through. Saira, of course, was her usual kick – A, bad – A self, and I love her. Archer took my breath away. Tom made me introspect. Seth Walters taught me how power could corrupt people.

Everything was thought out and written so well – the perfect mix of action, romance, suspense, fantasy – perfect is the only word I could use to describe this. I’m so sad to see the series end – no more new adventures with Saira, Archer, Ringo, Adam………

This is more than a shallow YA story – it’s a book you know you can always turn to to escape inside its pages.

2 thoughts on “Cheating Death by April White

Leave a Reply

