Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J. K. Rowling

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them opens in 1926 as Newt Scamander has just completed a global excursion to find and document an extraordinary array of magical creatures. Arriving in New York for a brief stopover, he might have come and gone without incident…were it not for a No-Maj (American for Muggle) named Jacob, a misplaced magical case, and the escape of some of Newt’s fantastic beasts, which could spell trouble for both the wizarding and No-Maj worlds.

And I saw it!!!! Oh my gosh that was amazing! You know that feeling when you watch a Harry Potter movie and you feel like you’re part of that world again or like you’ve come home?

Anyway, I only got to watch it yesterday, because it released on November 18th here, and the day after I had to leave on a school trip in the northern part of the country for a week, so this was the first chance when I was free.

Also, I know this isn’t technically a book, but come on. Harry Potter installment. No way am I missing a chance to comment.

Personally, I’ve always felt that the sound effects and music for this series has consistently been phenomenal. The dramatic music this time – I found that the notes were pretty similar to the notes of Indian classical music, which I learn, and I’m excited to know that I can play it on the violin.

Favorite character? Hands down Mr. Percival Graves. He was acted out so well and, honestly, you can’t say he isn’t a cliché but perfect character. I love love love him, and if he isn’t in the sequels, I might actually cry.

I adored the visual effects in the movie, and the funny parts were REALLY funny. Any Harry Potter fan would have gotten super excited at all the references and inside jokes… Which is why I’m gonna say that I would recommend it only if you’ve read the Harry Potter books.

Here’s why: as much as it pains me to say this, the plot and character developments were pretty iffy. I’m glad there is going to be a sequel because I would like to see a lot more character development. The storyline was, if you don’t understand the little details, pretty dull and very predictable. I’d give it 3.5 stars if I was a non-fandom watcher.

However, I don’t think you should let that affect the movie ratings because the target audience is the Potterverse community (I’d give it 4.3 stars). Die hard Potterhead? You’ll enjoy this.

4 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J. K. Rowling

    1. Well, in order, Credence was an interesting character who I loved. Newt was adorable! Jacob was amazing, I loved Tina… I absolutely love everyone except Queenie. I would have had so much fun writing about everyone, except that there would be way too many spoilers, and the post would be at least 1000 words.

      Like

Leave a Reply

