The Crush Saga by Chrissy Peebles

Moving to Big Bear Lake was supposed to be a fresh start, but when Taylor Sparks is thrown into a supernatural world, her reality comes crashing down around her.  Little does she know, she’s a KEY player in a dangerous game created 1,000 years ago that will give the witches and werewolves the upper hand against the vampires.

Her life is forever changed when she meets a guy with winter-blue eyes named Jesse. But sadly, things aren’t adding up. Taylor wonders what he is hiding. When her new friend, Fred tells her his suspicions about Jesse being a paranormal creature, Taylor laughs. But when Fred turns up dead, she believes every warning he ever told her.

Taylor is shocked to learn that Big Bear Lake isn’t just glittering lakes, towering pines, and breathtaking mountains…there’s more…way more than what meets the eye.

This series is a paranormal fantasy. As some of you might know, I’m not actually a huge fan of the whole shape-shifter/vampire Twilight stuff. However, I did want to try one in case I could change my mind.

Personally, I find the whole thing overdone. To quote one of my favorite books, Fae Unbound, “Why on earth would you find a cross between a mosquito and a bat romantic?” (in reference to most vampires). As for shape-shifters, I find animals adorable so I would probably treat a shape-shifter more like a little puppy. Just saying.

Anyway, as for this book, I found that it had a really drab plot that moved pretty slowly. The focus was more on supernatural creatures themselves rather having anything happening. I also thought that some scenes were totally random and I felt that Chrissy Peebles just threw them in there to make something happen, rather than because they actually held significance. The flow of events was barely there, and the storyline itself was pretty choppy. I felt that some things happened waaay too fast, and other things took waaay too much time to happen.

So this is my take on the Crush series. Don’t let that stop you though, these books are actually pretty famous, so if you are a fan of paranormal fantasy, you can definitely check it out.

Leave a Reply

