Sebastian Morgenstern from The Mortal Instruments

Disclaimer: I don’t own or claim credit for the feature image of this post.

If I cannot move Heaven, I will raise Hell.

I really needed to make this post because The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare is one of my favorite series, and Sebastian is my favorite characters from them. I know, I know, that’s really weird, but it’s true and I have a whole explanation for why.

SPOILERS ALERT

Just to clarify, I really liked him until all that stuff with Clary happened, so just for your information, according to me, that messed up stuff never happened.

Okay, so first of all you have to feel bad for Sebastian. I mean, he grew up with his father beating him every day just for doing what Valentine told him to do. But at the same time, Valentine never hit Jace even though Jace wasn’t even his son! What is that going to do to your kid’s self esteem, huh? No wonder Sebastian spent the rest of his life trying to make his dad happy. In fact, I feel like you could even draw a slight comparison to Draco Malfoy from the Harry Potter series (who I might do a post on later), with respect to that aspect. Actually, they are pretty alike in that whole platinum blond, tall, monochrome eyes thing.

Anyway, second of all, everyone says that he’s half demon so that makes him evil and unworthy. I guess that is kind of true, but how is that his fault? He really can’t help the fact that his father decided to genetically engineer him into a monster. If it wasn’t for the demon blood he would have actually been a nice person. You saw at the end of City of Heavenly Fire where he turned back into Jonathan. Maybe if Valentine hadn’t raised him he would actually have been a good person.

All of that stuff with Lilith and Jace-like I said, you have to feel really bad for him. He took Jace because his whole life he’d never been loved, and he thought maybe, just maybe, he could get that with the boy who was raised practically as a brother to him. Did that work? No. So you can’t really blame him for going after Lilith, because she was the first person to ever show him love, and she tried to raise him as her son.

Lastly, please don’t kill me for this, but Sebastian is pretty sassy. Take for example that scene where Jordan dies. Just so you know, I really didn’t want him to die, but if you look at it it was obvious he was going to (he’s a typical nice guy but supporting character), so I’m glad he died before Maia got a chance to devastate him. Anyway, if you look past all of that, it is pretty funny the way Sebastian is just acting all nonchalant and snarky. Of course, that’s not the only sassy place, but it’s one of the most illuminating.

So what do you think?

One thought on “Sebastian Morgenstern from The Mortal Instruments

Leave a Reply

