Piper McLean from Heroes of Olympus

Disclaimer: I don’t own or claim credit for the feature image of this post.

Love is powerful…it can bring the gods to their knees.

The Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus are two series that are must reads, and if you haven’t read them, trust me, you’re missing out on a lot.

SPOILERS ALERT

Oookay. So. Piper McLean, I’m going to say…is not high up there on my favorite characters list. It’s not like I hate her or anything, it’s just that, well, she’s so…perfect. Let me explain.

Piper, once she comes to Camp Half Blood, has it all. She has a famous dad, she doesn’t have to struggle for money, she has friends, she has looks, and she has Jason. What more could a girl want? I feel like Piper has the perfect life, but she just can’t see it. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mean in the sense that she’s a spoilt kid always wanting more. That’s not what I mean. What I’m trying to say is that she worries too hard and she just doesn’t understand that it’s okay to step back and take advantage of what you have.

Secondly, Piper is perfect. She is very powerful,  with amazing charmspeak. Everyone values her, and she is a super sweet angel. So why can’t she see that? I mean, she’s always worrying that she’s not enough and she’s really weak but that’s not true! Stop feeling sorry for yourself Piper, you’re not alone!

But on the other hand she keeps telling everyone that they should start respecting Aphrodite’s kids more because they aren’t just about looking good and they can be powerful too. So when it comes to other people with the same abilities they are amazing, but when it comes to herself she isn’t good enough? Piper you really need to make up your mind.

And she’s just so freaking perfect! She’s sweet, she’s smart, and there’s that whole bit where she saves everyone’s butts because she’s the first person to fight with their feelings…ugh that is so overdone.

Worst of all, you know that scene where Jason and Percy lose their minds and start fighting each other? Well yay, Piper saved the day but doesn’t she think for a second that Jason would have won the fight? Piper no, no, no! As awesome as Jason may be, it is always Percy. Or even if you like Jason better, you can’t just pick sides!

So really, I know many of these aren’t really valid reasons to not like someone on their own, but together I think it’s what makes Piper such a perfectly annoying character. I don’t hate her or anything, but she’s just so…ugh.

3 thoughts on “Piper McLean from Heroes of Olympus

Leave a Reply

