The Lux Novels by Jennifer L. Armentrout

When seventeen-year-old Katy Swartz moved to West Virginia right before her senior year, she’d pretty much resigned herself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring, but then she spotted her neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up…until he opened his mouth. Daemon Black is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. It’s hate at first sight, but when a stranger attacks her and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens. The guy next door? Well, he’s an alien. Turns out that Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities and Katy is caught in the crosshairs. Daemon’s touch has lit her up like the Vegas Strip and the only way she’s getting out of this alive is by sticking close to him until her alien mojo fades. That is if she doesn’t kill him first.

This is a pretty famous series, and I’m sure many of you have read these books. If you have, leave a comment. If you haven’t, go read them.

First things first-Daemon Black is one of the best characters ever. He’s confident, cocky, sassy, and amazing. And he knows it. It’s so much fun to see him and Katy together. He gets on her nerves, and she gives it right back to him.

Okay, so I have to say that this series would get a pretty high score for originality. The Lux are basically an alien race made of light-I never thought aliens could be so cool! I also liked how this book managed to tie in both fantasy and sci-fi together so well. And of course Daemon is so awesome that he’s a freaking legit star. Go figure.

Guess what! Katy has a blog where she reviews books, kind of like mine! Now I wonder where I could find a Daemon to feature on my blog… any ideas?

Anyway, I’m gonna try really hard not to spoil this for you, but Katy can be really stubborn when it comes to her choice of friends, and that’s something that had me banging my head against a metaphorical wall. I mean, why on Earth would you trust someone who has deliberately put your life in danger-repeatedly?

Book number 3-Opal. Plot twist much? I’m not going to say anything, but that was one unpredictable thing I definitely didn’t see coming. As for the ending, it was perfect to see everybody settle down happily. They totally got what they deserved, and I was glad to see that the rollercoaster that they had gone on during previous books was worth it.

Also, you might have already read this in my review of the Divisa novels, but the first book of each of these series is pretty similar, so I would definitely recommend that series if you loved this one.

Leave a Reply

