The Divisa Novels by J. L. Weil

I wondered what my life would be like if we had never moved to the ho-dunk town of Spring Valley, Illinois. Sure the internet service was splotchy, there was nothing but miles of wheat fields, and I probably wouldn’t be faced with death at every corner.

My only neighbor in this god forsaken town was…well, with his unusually silver eyes, there was something about him that was more than meets the eye.

Of course I was determined to find out.

Chase Winters was also insufferable, arrogant and…in short a d-bag. There was something weird about the family living next door. What I hadn’t expected to find was an underworld of trouble. Chase and his cousins Lexi and Travis are Divisa, half-demon, half-human. Getting them angry was hardly in my best interest, not if I wanted to live.

As it turned out, that might be the least of my problems. I’ve been tagged by hell.

Now every ugly, nasty being from Hades was on my trail. I suddenly became a magnet for demon disaster, and the only way I am getting out of this alive was by putting my life in the demon spawn’s hands.

One wrong decision and my butt was toast.

The Divisa novels are actually a lot shorter than most-they are somewhere in between a novella and a novel. Kind of like a longer novella. Speaking of which, does anyone know the differences between a novella, a novelette, and a short story?

Kay, back to the point. These books are the definition of exhilarating and some characters are sooo fangirling worthy. Due to the shorter length, there is a lot happening packed into these pages, and that is one of the things that contribute to the good read. If you’re a reader who enjoyed the Lux novels, then this series might really interest you.

Another thing that I’d like to mention is how detailed the descriptions are. Lexi and Chase are described so vividly that I had no trouble imagining them. The mystery of Chase’s character is definitely a hit, and I love the sassy banter between him and Angel.

However, certain scenes such as the “run away from demons” scenes are pretty repetitive throughout the series.

Um, something else I’d like to say is that the first book, Saving Angel, is really really really similar to the first book of the Lux novels, Obsidian. Like change the character names and leave everything else the same similar. It’s kinda funny because they were both published in 2012 too. Which is why I’d recommend either book to a fan of the other.

You don’t have to worry about that too much either; the similarities end in the first book. The second book, Hunting Angel, is completely its own, and so are the rest.

Leave a Reply

